Krische Mike

Austin, USA

Professor Michael J. Krische obtained a B.S. degree in Chemistry from the University of California at Berkeley (1989), where he performed research with Professor Henry Rapoport.

After a year abroad as a Fulbright Fellow, he initiated doctoral studies at Stanford University with Professor Barry Trost as a Veatch Graduate Fellow.

Following receipt of his Ph.D. degree (1996), he joined the laboratory of Nobel Laureate Professor Jean-Marie Lehn at the Université Louis Pasteur as an NIH Post-Doctoral Fellow.

In 1999, he joined the faculty at the University of Texas at Austin. Professor Krische was promoted directly to the rank of full professor (2004), skipping the associate rank, and shortly thereafter appointed the Robert A.

Welch Chair in Science (2007). Professor Krische has pioneered a broad, new family of byproduct-free catalytic C-C bond formations that merge the characteristics of catalytic hydrogenation and carbonyl addition: (a) Hydrogen-mediated reductive couplings of π- unsaturated feedstocks with carbonyl compounds or imines and (b) related hydrogen auto- transfer reactions for the direct stereo- and site-selective conversion of lower alcohols to higher alcohols.

Professor Krische’s research has been recognized by numerous awards, including the NSF-CAREER Award (2000), Cottrell Scholar Award (2002), Eli Lilly Granteeship for Untenured Faculty (2002), Frasch Award in Chemistry (2002), Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award (2003), Sloan Fellowship (2003), Johnson & Johnson Focused Giving Award (2005), Solvias Ligand Prize (2006), Presidential Green Chemistry Award (2007), ACS Corey Award (2007), Dowpharma Prize (2007), Novartis Lectureship (2008), Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award (2009), Humboldt Senior Research Award (2009-2011), Mukaiyama Award (2010), Glaxo-Smith-Kline Scholar Award (2011), ACS Cope Scholar Award (2012), JSPS Fellow (2013), Eun Lee Lectureship, Korea (2015), Royal Society of Chemistry, Pedlar Award (2015), AAAS Fellow (2017).