Echavarren Antonio

Tarragona, Spain

Echavarren Antonio M. received his PhD at the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (UAM, 1982) with Prof. Francisco Fariña.

After a postdoctoral stay in Boston College with Prof. T. Ross Kelly, he joined the UAM as an Assistant Professor.

Following a two years period as a NATO-fellow with Prof. John K. Stille in Fort Collins (Colorado State University), he joined the Institute of Organic Chemistry of the CSIC in Madrid.

In 1992 he returned to the UAM as a Professor of Organic Chemistry and in 2004 he moved to Tarragona as a Group Leader at the Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (ICIQ).

He has been Liebig Lecturer (Organic Division, German Chemical Society, 2006), Abbot Lecturer in Organic Chemistry (University of Illinois at Urbana-Campaign, 2009), Schulich Visiting Professor (Technion, Haifa, 2011), Sir Robert Robinson Distinguished Lecturer (University of Liverpool, 2011), Novartis Lecturer in Organic Chemistry (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2015) and Kurt Alder Lecturer 2017 (University of Cologne).

In 2012, he got a European Research Council Advanced Grant and in 2014 he was the president of the 49th EUCHEM Conference on Stereochemistry (Bürgenstock conference).

Prof. Echavarren is a member of the International Advisory Board of Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry, Chemical Society Reviews, Advanced Synthesis and Catalysis, and Organic Letters, member of the Editorial Board of Chemistry European Journal, and Associate Editor of Chemical Communications.

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

He received the 2004 Janssen-Cylag Award in Organic Chemistry and the 2010 Gold Medal of the Royal Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry and an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award from the ACS.

Since 2018, he is the President of the Royal Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry.